New Lexington, Ohio

October 21, 2019

The New Lexington School District Board of Education held its 2019 Regular meeting at 6:00 p.m. in the New Lexington Middle School Media Center, 2549 Panther Dr., New Lexington, Ohio.

Members present: John McGaughey, Steve Burton, Mike Davisson, Bill Nutt and Jason Givens.

Union Presidents Address the Board

All members having received a type written copy of the minutes from the September 16, 2019 regular meeting, it was moved by Nutt and seconded by Davisson that the Treasurer dispense with the reading of the minutes, and further that said minutes be approved.

THE VOTE: Nutt, yes; Davisson, yes; Givens, yes; Burton, yes; McGaughey, yes. President McGaughey declared the motion carried.

Audience Comments on Agenda Items

Treasurer's Recommendations

It was moved by Nutt seconded by Givens to approve the Treasurer Recommendations as follows:

- A. Approve the September 30, 2019 Financial Report as presented.
- B. Approve transfer of the following funds: From Account 200-967P to Account 200-967O for \$1,034.78 From Account 200-967N to Account 200-967M for \$17.83
- C. Approve October 2019 Increase Appropriation Adjustment:

Fund	Fund No.	Amount
FY 20 Striving Readers Grant	599-9720	\$596,463.45
6B Restoration Funds	587-9021	7,968.71

D. Approve Then and Now Purchase Orders PaySchools PO #59599 for \$5,790.00

THE VOTE: Nutt, yes; Givens, yes; Davisson, yes; Burton, yes; McGaughey, yes. President McGaughey declared the motion carried.

Superintendent's Report

Superintendent's Recommendations

It was moved by Davisson and seconded by Nutt to approve the following consent agenda items:

A. Approve Long Term Substitute for 2019-20 School Year:

Name	Position	Salary*
Dusti Samson	Int. Special Grade 7	\$95/day

^{*}Salary will be at the substitute rate for the first sixty workdays. A per diem rate based on training and experience will be paid beginning on day 61.

- B. Approve resignation of Non-Licensed personnel Ryan Gorby, Evening HS Custodian, effective September 25, 2019.
- C. Approve tutor Anna Fox for 8th Grade Student through December 2019 at \$32.41/hour.
- D. Approve intermittent FMLA for Serena Stoneburner, bus driver, beginning September 23, 2019 through September 23, 2020.
- E. Approve FMLA for Kim Mautz, Middle School teacher, beginning October 11, 2019 through December 3, 2019.
- F. Approve 2019-20 Licensed Personnel Supplemental Contracts:

Name	Position	Exp.	Salary
Jeremy Duerr	Head Coach - HS Boys Basketball	6+	\$6,481
Nick Phillips	Asst. Coach - MS Boys Basketball(7)	0 (\$2,880
Dave Ratliff	Head Coach - HS Wrestling	6+	\$6,481
Karen Fehrman	Head Coach - Bowling	1	\$1,800
Alyssa Wolfe	Head Coach – Girls Softball	2	\$3,241
Brett Vermillion	Head Coach – HS Boys Track	6+	\$3,961
Barry Harvey	Head Coach – HS Girls Track	1	\$3,241
Joey Fisher	Asst. Coach – HS Boys Track	1	\$2,160
Taylor Maclam	Asst. Coach – MS Boys Track	0	\$2,160
Tanner Cook	Asst. Coach – MS Girls Track	1	\$2,160

G. Approve 2019-20 Licensed, Non-Employee supplemental contracts:

Name	Position	Exp.	Salary
Zeb Wood	Asst. Coach – MS Wrestling	3	\$3,241

H. Having found no interested nor qualified licensed person employed or not employed by the Board of Education pursuant to Section 3319.22 and 3313.53, Ohio Revised Code, and upon the recommendation of Superintendent Coffey, it was moved to adopt the following resolution #19-17 hereby approving the following non-licensed non-employee pupil activity contracts for the 2019-20 school year. All persons listed have the required CPR and PAP certifications:

Name	Position	Exp.	<u>Salary</u>
Jimmy Russell	Asst. Coach – HS Boys Basketball	5	\$3,601
Lane Hollingshead	Asst. Coach – HS Boys Basketball	2	\$3,241
Jacob Cozad	Asst. Coach – MS Boys Basketball(8) 4	\$3,241
Jay Chadwell	Head Coach – HS Girls Basketball	4	\$6,121
Allie Russell	Asst. Coach – HS Girls Basketball	1	\$3,241
Jerry Bankes	Asst. Coach – MS Girls Basketball(8) 6+	\$3,601
Matt Reed	Asst. Coach – HS Wrestling	6+	\$3,961
Koy Dennis	Asst. Coach – HS Wrestling	6+	\$3,961
Ryan Lewis	Asst. Coach – MS Wrestling	1	\$2,880
Lacey Bateson	Asst. Coach – HS Softball	2	\$1,080 (shd)
Koy Dennis	Asst. Coach – HS Softball	4	\$1,260 (shd)

- I. Approve Jeff Williams as full-time evening custodian at New Lexington High School.
- J. Approve 2nd Reading of Policy #4120.05 Employment of Substitute Educational Aides (as presented at the 9/16/19 Board Meeting).
- K. Approve Memorandum of Understanding between Hocking College and New Lexington High School (College Credit Plus Program) effective for the 2019-20 school year.
- L. Approve the following non-certificate substitutes for the 2019-20 school year:

Jacob Adams – sub custodian, bus driver McKenna Sheppard – sub cook, aide Dillon Moore – sub custodian Amanda Spender – sub cook, aide, secretary

M. Approve the following volunteers for the 2019-20 school year:

Athletics – Justin Carson, Kyle Sparks

THE VOTE: Davisson, yes; Nutt, yes; Givens, yes; Burton, yes; McGaughey, yes. President McGaughey declared the motion carried.

N. It was moved by Nutt and seconded by Givens to approve Resolution #19-18
Authorizing the Extension of the Master Supply Agreement for New Lexington
Board of Education for the Purchase of Competitive Retail Electric Service from

Direct Energy Business that commenced as of June 2017 billing cycle with such extension to be for a twenty-five month period through June 2022 billing cycle.

THE VOTE: Nutt, yes; Givens, yes; Davisson, yes; Burton, yes; McGaughey, yes. President McGaughey declared the motion carried.

O. It was moved by Burton and seconded by Givens to approve Resolution #19-19
Authorizing the Refinancing of certain outstanding lease obligations, pursuant to
a Lease-Purchase Financing, including a Site Lease Agreement and a Lease
Agreement, and matters related therto.

THE VOTE: Burton, yes; Givens, yes; Nutt, yes; Davisson, yes; McGaughey, yes. President McGaughey declared the motion carried.

Items for Discussion/Research Prior to Action

President

It was moved by Burton and seconded by Givens to adjourn the meeting.

THE VOTE: Burton, yes; Givens, yes; Nutt, yes; Davisson, yes; Nyes. President McGaughey declared the motion carried.	AcGaughey

Treasurer